German Masters Snooker Past Winners

The German Masters Snooker tournament, a prestigious event in the world of professional snooker, has a storied history filled with unforgettable moments and remarkable champions. As we approach the 2024 edition of this thrilling competition, let’s take a deep dive into the past winners who have left an indelible mark on the tournament.

The Legacy Unveiled: A Historical Overview

Since its inception in 1998, the German Masters has been a platform for elite snooker players to showcase their skills, compete at the highest level, and etch their names into the annals of the sport. The tournament, held at Berlin’s iconic Tempodrom, has consistently delivered electrifying atmospheres and dramatic encounters that captivate snooker enthusiasts worldwide.

The Past Decade: A New Wave of Champions

In the last decade, the German Masters has witnessed a changing of the guard, with a fresh wave of champions making their mark. Let’s start by examining the winners from 2014 to 2023, highlighting the diverse array of talent that has graced the Tempodrom.

  • 2014: Barry Hawkins (ENG) vs. Dominic Dale (WAL) – 9-5 Barry Hawkins displayed impeccable skill and composure to secure the title against Welshman Dominic Dale. The final showcased Hawkins’ ability to navigate pressure situations, setting the tone for future champions.
  • 2015: Mark Selby (ENG) vs. Marco Fu (HKG) – 9-5 Mark Selby, known for his tactical brilliance, added the German Masters title to his illustrious resume in 2015. The final against Marco Fu exemplified Selby’s ability to control the game’s pace and capitalize on crucial moments.
  • 2016: Martin Gould (ENG) vs. Luca Brecel (BEL) – 9-5 Martin Gould’s triumph in 2016 was a testament to his steady cueing and consistency under pressure. Facing the talented Luca Brecel, Gould showcased his mettle and secured the title with a 9-5 victory.
  • 2017: Anthony McGill (SCO) vs. Marco Fu (HKG) – 9-5 Anthony McGill’s victory in 2017 highlighted the international appeal of the German Masters. The Scottish player displayed a blend of skill and determination in overcoming Marco Fu in a thrilling final.
  • 2018: Graeme Dott (SCO) vs. Jack Lisowski (ENG) – 5-4 Graeme Dott’s narrow victory against Jack Lisowski in 2018 showcased the unpredictable nature of snooker. Dott’s experience and resilience came to the fore in a closely contested final.
  • 2019: Kyren Wilson (ENG) vs. Ronnie O’Sullivan (ENG) – 9-7 Kyren Wilson’s triumph in 2019 was a career-defining moment. Overcoming the legendary Ronnie O’Sullivan in a thrilling final, Wilson displayed mental fortitude and skill to claim the title.
  • 2020: Judd Trump (ENG) vs. Ronnie O’Sullivan (ENG) – 9-6 Judd Trump’s aggressive shot-making and tactical nous were on full display in 2020. Trump secured his first German Masters title by defeating O’Sullivan in a high-stakes final.
  • 2021: Judd Trump (ENG) vs. Jack Lisowski (ENG) – 9-2 Trump continued his dominance in 2021, dispatching Jack Lisowski with ruthless efficiency. The victory solidified Trump’s status as one of snooker’s premier talents.
  • 2022: Zhao Xintong (CHN) vs. Yan Bingtao (CHN) – 9-0 In 2022, the Chinese sensation Zhao Xintong announced his arrival on the international stage with a resounding victory against compatriot Yan Bingtao. The 9-0 scoreline showcased Zhao’s dominance in the final.
  • 2023: Ali Carter (ENG) vs. Tom Ford (ENG) – 10-3 Ali Carter’s triumphant return to the winner’s circle in 2023 added a poignant chapter to the German Masters history. Overcoming personal challenges, Carter secured his second title, defeating Tom Ford with a convincing 10-3 scoreline.

The Human Side of Triumph: Ali Carter’s Redemption

The 2023 edition of the German Masters stands out as a testament to the human spirit’s resilience in the face of adversity. Ali Carter, a seasoned professional with a career marred by personal demons and injury setbacks, defied the odds to claim his second German Masters title, a quarter of a century after his first triumph. Carter’s emotional journey and unwavering spirit resonated with fans, highlighting the human stories that make snooker a sport of not just skill, but also of triumph over personal challenges.

Looking Ahead to 2024: The Unwritten Chapter

As we anticipate the 2024 German Masters, the question looms large: who will be the next champion to join the illustrious list of past winners? Will a new star emerge, or will a seasoned veteran add another chapter to their storied career? The Tempodrom in Berlin awaits, with its passionate crowd and electrifying atmosphere, ready to witness the drama and brilliance that define the German Masters.

Also Read: German Masters Snooker 2024 Venue


The German Masters Snooker tournament has been a stage for some of the most iconic moments in the sport’s history. From the early triumphs of John Higgins to the recent resurgence of Ali Carter, each champion has left an enduring legacy at the Tempodrom. As we celebrate the past winners and eagerly await the crowning of a new champion in 2024, the German Masters continues to be a symbol of skill, drama, and the indomitable spirit of those who compete on its hallowed grounds.


Meet Khizer Hussain, our standout sports analyst, here to guide you beyond the numbers on the scoreboard. With an intimate grasp of the sports world, Khizer dives deep into its intricacies, unraveling the hidden stories that often go unnoticed. His perceptive thinking and captivating articles offer you a novel viewpoint on the sports universe. It’s like a friendly chat with a fellow enthusiast rather than a corporate monologue.

Education: Bachelor in Marketing
Expertise: SEO Strategist, Content Management, Link Building, On Page - Off Page SEO

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. (required)